Friday 26 September 2014

Wayward Basses Night in London in November

See below, the poster for the "Wayward Basses" evening coming up in November.

I first became aware of Kev Hopper's unique, quirky and engaging bass style through his work with the band Stump in the '80's. It's amazing to me that I first saw them on TV's "The Tube", you can knock the 1980's all you like (deservedly so at times for sure), but at least then, odd, unusual bands and artists could get sometimes get through the mire of tacky commercial pop and be seen on mainstream TV, I can't think of any equivalent today.

I've followed Kev's post Stump output, and his music is always really original, offbeat, fun and inspiring, especially the album "Spoombung" which, as well as being a really adventurous listen, shows off some great sonic possibilities of the bass guitar.

Kev will be playing with his great new trio called Prescott,  featuring drummer Frank Byng (of Snorkel, another band well worth checking out)  and polymath keyboard player Rhodri Marsden.

Solo bass experimentalist, serial collaborator and looping expert Steve Lawson will also be playing a set. To pick a random example of his work, this version of REM's "Orange Crush" below illustrates Steve's ability to really develop and expand a familiar theme into something completely new and engrossing:

....he's incredibly prolific, so a trip to his website is going to be more up to date than anything I can say.

A Facebook Event page for the gig can be found here:

….and Ticket information can be found here:

…...and you can read more about the gig on the Bass Guitar Magazine website if you click here.

…..all set for a great night. I am really looking forward to it.



PS Twinscapes will also be playing London's Match and Fuse Festival on October 4th, please see my previous post here.

Monday 22 September 2014

Etymology - Tracklisting and Pre Order Information, and bonus tracks.

My upcoming collaborative album with Jon Durant, Eytmology is now up for pre-order on burning shed here or via Jon Durant's own website here.

Release/Shipping date will be October 20th (21st in the USA)

Also available at all the usual outlets of course:  iTunes, CD Baby, Amazon etc

As a small incentive for those who might like to support us directly as individuals, the first 200 copies shipped through Jon Durant's webshop or Burning Shed will come with a download code which gives access to "Etymology Bonus", in the form of five other tunes:

1) Charlatan - Burnt Belief (Bonus track from the Etymology sessions, featuring Vinny Sabatino on Drums)
2) Plural -  a new version of a tune I contributed to the Mick Karn benefit compilation album "A Show of Love Respect and Grace" back in 2010.
3) Behind Stone Walls - Jon Durant (from his album "Brief Light" features Vinny Sabatino on percussion and Tony Levin on Stick)
4) Tears Trickle Down - Jon Durant (from "Silent Extinction Beyond the Zero" feat. Tony Levin on electric upright Bass)
5) Clock Dismay - a previously unreleased track of mine.

Full track listing and timings for the album are below:

1 Chromatique - 7.12
2 Dissemble - 4.36
3 Precis - 5.13
4 Hraunfossar - 6.39
5 Convergence - 5.22
6 Rivulet - 7.06
7 White Keys - 6.02.
8 Not Indifferent - 11.40
9 Hover - 5.22
10 Chimera - 6.37
11 Squall - 6.01

…..and the official press release can be found here.

My thanks go out to our guests, drummers Vinny Sabatino, Dean McCormick and Jose DuQue and violinist Steve Bingham, also Randy Roos at Squam Sound in New Hampshire for mixing and mastering.

We'll also be previewing a couple of full length tracks very soon….


Sunday 21 September 2014

Twinscapes Live in London at the Vortex October 4th

Twinscapes will be appearing at the Vortex in London on October the 4th.
This performance is part of the Match and Fuse Festival, please see the Match and Fuse website for more info, there's a whole host of great bands from all over Europe.
Tickets are available on this link.
Drummer Roberto Gualdi, who appeared in the album will be joining myself and Lorenzo Feliciati to expand the line up to a trio, and this is the first in a series of dates we'll be doing in the UK and Italy over this coming autumn.

More info soon….



Wednesday 10 September 2014

Obake Press Release and Touring in December

I'll be touring in Europe with Obake in December, dates confirmed so far can be found here  and more will be added in due course. You can also track the dates as they come in by following the link below:

Official Press Release:

"M" is the latest track to be released from Obake's upcoming second album, Mutations, which will be released via Rare Noise Records this October. Like a number of the new album tracks, it begins with a familiar sound, a thick, sludge- like groove recalling numerous titans of the Southern Rock scene, however it soon breaks down all conventions with a game-changing unsettling vocal interlude which segues into mind-boggling progressive rock, replete with minor chords and epic crescendos. It is songs like this that go a long way to show how Obake take their influences and create something that is uniquely their own.

Obake are Lorenzo Esposito Fornasari (vocals, piano, electronics), Eraldo Bernocchi (guitar, electronics), Balazs Pandi (drums) and Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree - bass). This second album arrives at the place where the energies of metal fuse with ambient electronica, jazz, and noise with the precision of math-rock and the groove of blues. Obake's sound harks back to the dawn of hard-rock, drawing upon a variety of influences from Sunn 0))), Popul Vuh, Ashra Tempel as much as Slayer, Tool, Melvins and Coil. Obake are made all the more distinctive by the fluid lyrical delivery and musings of a commanding operatic voice.

Imposing in its darkness, encompassing in its beauty and ever powerful, Obake have lost none of their might since the release of their debut, if anything, they are more captivating now than ever before.

Mutations was recorded by Daniel Sandor at Metropol Studio in Budapest, produced and mixed by Eraldo Bernocchi and Lorenzo Esposito Fornasari at The Place in Tuscany and mastered by Michael Fossenkemper at Turtletone Studio - NYC. 

Lastly, for a flavour of the upcoming album "Mutations" due in October,  here's "M":

Monday 8 September 2014

Holga Split Camera

I experimented a little with a Holga split camera on a recent trip to Berlin:


                                                 Mausoleum and Statues Charlottenburg

Solo Work

Ex Wise Heads Downloads